Posted by: gearkat | September 6, 2014

The Bitter Follower 20

                       I couldn’t bring myself to get out of bed, my nightmares were becoming real. People I trusted, people I needed, they where disappearing. He was taking them and I couldn’t stop him anymore. The sun had set and risen about three times, or at least, I had blacked out about three times. Richard had been called away but there was always some faceless person in the room now, just sitting there by the door, watching me. I know that watch. I know why that person is sitting there, their eyes on me. They take it in shifts, first it’s a maid in the morning then it’s a valet, but even they grows tired of me.  The body guards take up the watch from there. I like it when the body guards are here, I don’t think they have had to watch a person like me before. The big bald one keeps telling me bad jokes, I don’t laugh. They are funny but I don’t do much of anything but stare off into space. I mostly think, I’ve not really had time to think, it’s hard to think when you are trying to suppress what you are trying to think about. Memories mostly. They cause me so much pain, I think I cry a few times, I hardly pay attention to myself. The other body guard has long blond hair, it shines in the sunlight,  He reads books to me. Just holds my hand and reads from this or that. I think we are reading some novel or another now. His voice is slow and low, it puts me to sleep sometimes but I can’t stay that way. If I sleep I dream and when I dream I think of David. I wonder what was it that pushed him over the edge? Where did he shoot himself, if it was the head then it was a logical problem but if it was the heart then it was an emotional one. What could I have said to stop him? I could have said ’David, you are wonderful, I couldn’t be together like I am if you hadn’t of helped me.’ but he would have smiled in that charming way and said ’thank you, but I’m fine.’ I could have stayed close by, so when he needed me I was right there, every now and again I get the feeling that he sent me on this trip so I wouldn’t have to see him how he was. Was that his last goodbye to me? Why? Why? Why? Then I wake up and the blond bodyguard smiles at me in a way that my mind changes his visage with David’s’ smile. The princes come back. Richard takes over baldies spot, Marius at his side, and Nathaniel next to him. Their faces are flat and lifeless with worry, they do not smile, they do not speak they just stand vigil as if I am the one who has died.  He’s not dead. He can’t be. Not kindhearted David. Not the man who helped me put my life back together after Angel nearly killed me. I felt more tears down my face as my chest ached. Suddenly, in this bleakness, a voice rang in.
    “Where is she?” The princes looked away from me to the door, I heard feet running across the carpet.
    “KRISTA!” I sprung up with a sudden vigor as my sisters jumped into my bed. My silent stone tears suddenly sprung to life as deep heaving sobs. My sisters! My sisters!
    “Amber! Katlyn!” I held them close to me as emotions overtook me. My sisters! Nothing could hurt me with my sisters here! Nothing could even come close to swipe at me with them by my sides. We sobbed and sobbed mourning and elation taking over as we three were reunited.
    “H-how? How are you here?” I pleaded, not letting go of them.
    “Thomas sent us. He said that his best overseas associate needed some help in the field.” Katlyn managed out.  I was panting for air between my sobs.
    “Then bless him!” I said hugging them again.
    “The only downer is that we are here for a week.” Amber pet my hair, tears streaming down her face.
    “More then enough time, my God I’ve missed you so much.” I held them tightly again as Edward brought us some tea. I looked around for the princes but they had vanished like ghosts in the midst of this girly example of emotion. Only slight shame flushed my face but that was soon lost as Amber gently wiped at my tears.
    “It’s ok Krissy, we are here now. Now we’ve brought you something that might cheer you up a little.” Amber smiled as Katlyn pulled her suitcase over.
    “Remember that D6 game you made so long ago?” Katlyn asked, shaking a bag full of dice, I couldn’t help a small smile to creep up on my face.
    “You mean…you two will finally play ‘Candy land: Knights of the Marzipan’ with me?” I looked back and forth between the girls as they nodded.
    “And we’ve got all our favorite shows, and comfort foods, and blankets…” Amber said as she tossed a blanket on me, I wrapped it around my head and shoulders instantly, my face peeking out. “But most importantly, Krista, We are here now.”

    Nathaniel was impressed. Amber and Katlyn had sent the men out of the room so very quickly and quietly, and it was a wonder that now there was laughter echoing from the once tomb like hall. Cage and Dole, the security guards, had big smiles on their faces with all the joy that emitted out. He walked past the hall down to his own large room to contemplate what had occurred. Marius and Celeste, hopefully whatever plan Krista had for them would work. Now, with her sisters here, she should be able to think with a clear head. There was something else that bothered Nathaniel, it was how Lucian treated him at the clinic. There wasn’t a short supply of people who hated the royal family, the recent turmoil that had happened was because of the rebel groups pushing against them. There had been real hate behind Lucian’s eyes though, the type that shuts off the soul and emotions. Nathaniel shivered thinking of this as his door opened, his couch was faced away from it.
    “Your Highness, may I speak with you?” A light feminine voice came into the room, Nathaniel turned to face the woman.
    “Lady Tomiko? How can I be of assistance?” He stood and walked over to her. Tomiko was not her usual boisterous and demanding self.
    “Only if you have time for me, prince Nathaniel.”  She let him lead her over to his couch, Her eyes were focused on her hands, they constantly shifted and rubbed together. “I bring to you a worry of your older brother, Richard.”
    “You have no need to worry about him. He’s always had a good head on his shoulders.” Nathaniel jumped a little as Tomiko stared at him.
    “Not as of late! Your Highness forgive me but I’ve always known that Richard rejected me, I made it so. I do not wish to be forced to marry anyone, and my father has antiquated notions of how I will live my life. Richard was a friend at the very least, and my interests lie in keeping him happy, but as of late…” Tomiko pressed her hand against her chin, covering her mouth, tears started running down her face.  Nathaniel patted her back, his face scrunched up in confusion.
    “As of late what, Tomiko?” he urged her to continue. Her shoulders where shaking, was it sadness?
    “We got into a fight, I said such disgusting things to him and he just shut down everything to me. Hasn’t spoken to me or anything since then, but Nathaniel the look in his eyes. Some obsession has come over him, and I can tell that it isn’t healthy.” Tomiko wrung her hands together again, biting at her lower lip. Nathaniel let his shoulders relax, perhaps this wasn’t as worrying as she made it out to be. Tomiko had always been at Richards’ side since they where children, no one had ever thought that they were not going to be married one day.
    “Richard has always had his little projects, I’m sure once he’s done fixing whatever he thinks needs to be fixed he’ll have time for you again, Lady Tomiko.” To his surprised, Tomiko violently shook her head no.
    “You don’t under stand! I was mad, I was frustrated, My father has been pushing for us to be seen out in public more often. He is so determined that Richard and I will be married, his reasons are his own. Richard and I lashed out at each other and His eyes were only filled with her.” She hiccupped, wiping at her tears. Nathaniel cocked his head to one side.
    “Her?” he questioned, before it dawned on him. “Do…do you mean Krista?”

    Richard had never heard such a joyful noise coming from Krista’s room. There was laughter, such hearty laughter. The women chattered so quickly that it was difficult to keep up with the conversation as they seemed to bounce and leap from topic to topic. Richard kept stalking the hall wondering back and forth every hour, Krista had to be ok now. His heart broke as he thought of her shut down and quite on her bed. No response to anyone. She had just stared into the canopy, Richard shivered, much like she was dead. He was almost jealous of the girls though, they snapped her back without any trouble. Richard could not fathom the Iron Girls life. Women not made, but forged by their trials. He thought about what Krista had told him, about protecting her family from the nightmare man. She had to do it or her family would have been killed. At the time, that had included her ex-husband, Richard thought with distaste. That husband was soon to make an appearance according to the contract. Richard would be ready to protect His Little Bird though. Krista would be protected, and Richard was her white knight. There was a pricking on his neck as a soft tune drifted down the hall. The girls sang. It was ‘Danny Boy’ that they sang, it was a slow tune, mournful, but the girls sang as loud and as long as they dare. Richard could not pin out Krista’s voice, and to be honest she might not have even been singing, but this was a song that they had sang together before, and it would be a song that they sang together even when they departed.  He heard a voice crack on some of the higher notes but still they pushed on. It rang though the halls and out over the gardens, Richard thought that perhaps even the people could hear the morning of the girls. A valet ran up to him bowing before handing him a note. Richard took it calmly from the youth and read it. He was being called away, again. His face twitched, not wanting to be farther then he needed from Krista. What if she need him? What if her sisters couldn’t comfort her enough and she needed his arms to protect her? He looked at the note again.
    
    My Son,
        Please come to my office. This is urgent family business.
                            Daddy
    Richard let out a frustrated puff of air, it really did annoy him that his father still referred to himself as ‘Daddy’. Even Benjamin at, what he was seventeen now right? Even Benjamin called him ‘Papa’ at the very least. The word ‘Daddy’ sounded infantile and just wrong in your late twenties. Richard scowled, folding the note into his pocket as the notes died away from the girls room. Worry flooded his mind as he moved toward the door, placing a hesitant knock on the door.
    “Who is that?” asked one of the girls, Amber perhaps?
    “Could it be Eddy? I didn’t think he was that fast with more tea!” Katlyn maybe? They sounded all the same.
    “Nah, he’s a good butler but no one is that fast in this place, it’s too damn big!” That was Krista, Richard knew her voice so well, he heard her in his dreams every night. He knocked again.
    “Look, we should let them come in I mean we are decent.” Katlyn again, she seemed the logical one of the three.
    “Decent? I’ve been sobbing for a near quarter-hour, Ducky! Look how red and blotchy my face is! Loooook at iiiiiit!” Krista laughed, He savored that sound, like a wind chime.
    “Well then, I’ll answer the door and you hid your face, princess!” Amber laughed as Richard stood up straight waiting for the door to open.
    “Besides I hit my leg before we left so I’ve got this huge bruise, wanna see?” Katlyn said.
    “Ew that’s gross! I’m gonna poke it.” Krista announced her intentions at least.
    “OW! Ambs! She poked it! It hurts! Don’t you understand that it hurts!” The little sister wined.
    “Well, who’s fault was it to show me that they were injured?” Krista chuckled.
    “Stop it you two! Oh Hello, Krista it’s a prince but I’ve forgotten which one it is!” Amber had opened the door at last. She was taller then Krista, with no glasses. Her long brown hair was pulled back into a braid, in fact all of their heads were in braids. Krista moved up onto her elbows, lounging on the bed.
    “Amber, Describe him for me then I’ll tell you who it is!” A giggle escaped her throat as Amber looked at him with a hyper critical eye. Richard met her eyes with a soft smile, Amber tilted her head from side to side, taking every angle.
    “He kinda looks like a young, blond, Benny Eggs.” Amber yelled back into the room, Katlyn let out a laugh as Richard’s brow curled up with confusion.
    “Ah, it’s Richard then.” Krista said with conviction. Amber laughed and opened the door to let Richard in. Seeing her, oh seeing Krista. She was sitting cross-legged before the bed with Katlyn braiding her hair. Her face was blotchy from crying but a smile was on it none the less.  Richard gave off a quick bow to her as the sisters sat together. You could tell they were sisters, all three had brown hair, their faces and expressions almost mirrored each other. There was an age difference but it was not to noticeable.
    “What can I do for you Richard?” Krista asked, trying to move to stand up. Katlyn placed a hand on her sister’s shoulder, forcing her back down.
    “I’m not done with your head Krissy.” She said trying to talk past several bobby pins sticking out from her lips.
    “I was just checking up on you, My Little Bird. To see how you are feeling while your sisters are visiting.” He smiled softly looking down at Krista.
    “I’m fine Richard. I’m doing better now that they are here.” Tears sprung up lightly in her eyes as Katlyn tugged on some hair. “Though Ducky is going to kill me with this hair.”
    “I swear I’m gonna get this right then we are gonna take a picture and then you are gonna wear it for the ball.” The little sister proclaimed, braiding another lock.
    “We’ve got her, Prince Richard. We’ve always had each other in times like this.” Amber took Richards arm and started leading him to the door.
    “Well if you are sure…”He started, looking back at Krista.
    “Privately, I would like to thank you, Your Highness.” Amber spoke quietly, leaning in to keep her voice low. “Krista hasn’t been like this in several years. She’s becoming her old self again, and I mean her real self.  We don’t know how to thank you fine men for helping her other then please keep up the good work after we are gone.” Richard smiled but shook his head.
    “Alas we are only a catalyst, Krista has worked so hard by herself to get where she is. In honest and earnest truthfulness, you three inspire me. So, my dear lady, it is I who must thank you for making her come here.” He kissed Amber’s hand, lightly before turning away to walk down the hall to his father’s office.

    “You wished to see my father?” Richard asked stepping into his father’s office. It was a casual room, the walls covered in books. The king long ago had abandoned his desk to paperwork, choosing rather to sit in one the large comfortable chairs before the fireplace. Richard was not surprised to see all of his siblings around the king, the youngest one at his feet while the older ones sat on the couch near the door. What did surprise him was seeing his mother and Marius’ mother sharing the other couch near the desk. Even Edward was there, standing just behind his master’s chair. Richard went over to his father, who outstretched his arms to him with his ever wonderful smile on his face. Richard accepted the affection warmly, the only people he ever aloud to do so was his parents. The King kissed his forehead before letting him go, Richard stood by the fireplace.
    “At last you are here, sunlight.” The king said, calling Richard by his childhood nickname. He sat back into his chair a pained look coming across his face. “My dear family. It Pleases me to have you close by. I have grim news that I will not keep from you.” He smiled his gentle smile, looking at each of them in turn his brown eyes sparkling. “My family I am dieing.” The stunned silence was heartbreaking, the family had no real reaction before Benjamin broke down into a loud sob, clinging to his father’s legs. The loss of one so dear to them all was a farce, it couldn’t be, it shouldn’t be!
    “How long? Of what?” Delta asked, tears streaming down her face as she clung to her sisters. The King smiled still, stroking Benjamin’s hair to ease the teenager’s pain.
    “I suppose you wouldn’t believe me if I said dengue fever?” His laugh was quite, “No? Then the truth is more your tastes. I have an affliction of the blood. There is no cure and very low survival. I’ve known for the last month but within the last three days I’ve had several doctors appointments to confirm word of my ultimate verdict.” The children were in shock. Delta clung tightly to Terri and Susan as they sobbed loudly. Marius, Richard and Nathaniel had stood next to each other and leaned on their fellow brother. Jacob and Joseph looked away, holding their hands tightly, not wanting to let go. In a moment The Kings wives, Amelia and Helena were at their husband’s sides, each with a hand on his shoulder, they smothered their faces into his neck tears streaming from their eyes. All was morning and sadness, they looked upon their father and husband as a corpse living, trying desperately to imagine a world without him there, making a lasting memory of how he was right now. Suddenly Jacob looked up, wiping at his face, to stare at his father.
    “That’s why she is here isn’t it?” He almost sounded accusing, grief filling his voice, “Your last big charity?”
    “No. No I expect my last charity will be something that leaves a bigger impact. Yes, I have spoken with the ministers, and it will be made public after my demise. When the new King is safe on his seat, I will have taken most of our power away.” His smile was no less gone as the family looked at him with pain in their eyes. “I have put into motion lasting charities. I have fought with my ministers for services to help our nation.” His smile drooped a little as his fingers clasps together, “I’ve even met with the Rebel leaser to calm some of their concerns.”
    Richard let out a gasp rushing over to his father, mortified at such talk. “Father they would stop at nothing to make you no more then a statue! Nothing more then a pretty picture on money! They would have our rule be dissolved!” HE clenched his fists to his sides, The King looked up at his son, smile never really fading away.
    “Is that so bad, my son? I for one like the idea of someone else making such huge choices. Seems to be working for Parliament.” He reached down and soothed Benjamin again, stroking the young son’s black hair. “Our family has ruled over these people for far too long. Some of us tried our best, but  one kind action does not erase cold feelings. We want this silent war to end Richard, one life lost is too many and we have lost more then one life.” The King looked back to Richard, looking the prince right in those blue eyes. Richard clenched and unclenched his fists, his mind running about, his heart breaking. Things kept rushing around and around in his mind, each thing trying to take up the most room when finally the smallest thought came rushing forward.

My father is dieing.

Before he could stop himself he felt as a child again and rushed to his father’s arms, weeping and lamenting. He felt those strong arms around his shoulders, holding him tightly. The king whispered soothing words into his ear as the rest of the family joined them, embracing each other tightly. Even Edward was dragged into the hug, being like a grandfather to the children and father to the adults. For a very long time they hugged, non of them wanting to lose this moment, no one wanting to break this last memory.

“A ROLLICKING BAND OF PIRATES WE, WHO, TIRED OF TOSSING ON THE SEA, ARE TRYING A HAND AT BURGLAREE, WITH WEAPONS GRIM AND GORY!” came three voices from the hallway. Singing at the top of their lungs, Amber, Krista, and Katlyn were taking their joyful noise out into the palace itself. The royal family moved almost as one to fling open the double doors to the King’s office. A smile slowly trickled over them as the sight unfolded as thus:
The girls were wearing newspaper hats, at their sides they had swords made from duck tape, but the strangest thing of all was they had a large rowboat balanced on some skateboards, rowing it down the hallways. The girls, having wrapped the oars in blankets as to not scuff the floors, rowed up to the door, each with a bright smile on their face, Katlyn up front, Krista in the middle, and amber in the rear.
    “Ahoy! Captain Amber, The royal family off the port bow!” Shouted Katlyn, pointing at the family. Amber nodded, taking out a cardboard tube, using it as a periscope.
    “Aye Aye, Captain Katlyn! Captain Krista, Weigh anchor so we may speak to this band of hum royals!” Amber laughed as Krista stood up in the boat, making it wobble, to salute the family.
    “Ahoy!” she smirked dropping her hand, “We are pirates!” She tipped her hat and the girls followed suit with the gesture.
    “How did this happen?” Asked Edward, though amused by the situation he was very conserved with the ease that the girls were able to gather items for piracy. Namely: The boat, that was childishly named the HMS Monkey Farts.
    “Well…” Krista started, her wild smirk never leaving her face, “It started after we watched The Pirates of Penzance.”
    “We couldn’t get the music out of our heads.” Katlyn continued.
    “So Krissy suggested we watch Muppet Treasure Island.” Said Amber, The girls were almost in sync with each other’s dialogue.
    “But that also has some really catchy tunes!” Exclaimed Katlyn.
    “So Ambs suggested we ask for some newspaper to make hats.” Krista Explained.
    “Why not ask for real ones?” Benjamin hesitated to get sucked into such simple and sincere madness, he was amazed at the girls at their heartfelt and innocent joy. They looked to each other with a light blush.
    “Well, we didn’t want to be too much of a bother.” Amber started, looking shyly at her sword.
    “Besides, by then I had already asked for the boat and skateboards.” Krista finished, with her hands on her hips.  The three cheered holding aloft their swords, the boat swayed as Krista sat back down. The Royal family looked to each other, then to their father. The King laughed heartily, pointing a finger at the girls.
    “There is no piracy here, ladies!” he chuckled. The girls looked to one another, then smiled at the King.
    “Then there is only one solution to this!” Katlyn placed her oar on the ground and pushed hard, moving the boat a few inches before her sisters joined in. “Captains? Retreat!” The boat moved at a walking pace  away from the bemused and amused family. The girls started up another song as they made their daring escape.

Later on the dining room was filled with life, though the thought of their father’s affliction never left their minds, the girls livened up the mood considerably. First had been the argument over how pirates were not aloud at the table. The girls had playfully fought against Edward, neither willing to move in the discussion.
    “I do not bend to the will of pirates!” he commented, as three duck tape swords pressed against his throat.
    “Join our crew or be slightly inconvenienced!” Shouted Amber throwing her free hand up into the air with a flourish.
    “Aye!” shouted the younger two. Eventually though they gave up letting Edward take their hats before letting them sit at the table. They got to keep their swords though. After some more silly behavior of the girls switching seats every conversation, Krista constantly trying to instigate a food fight, Amber being the peace keeper and promising Krista all kinds of sweets to end the madness, and Katlyn stealing food from her older sister’s plates, the three finally settled down. Amber and Katlyn across from Krista who was sitting between Nathaniel and Richard.
    “Oh I have some great news for everyone!” announced the King, he stood up with all eyes on him, his family not sure if they wanted to hear any more news for the evening. The girls took this opportunity to start a guessing game with him.
    “OH! What could it be! I think that the King is going to buy South Africa. What do you think, Amber?” Krista smiled, tossing a roll to her elder sister. Amber caught it and mused into the flaky crust.
    “South Africa? No, no, no. Our King isn’t for buying such places. I however think that has found a stunning piece to put into the museum and has tickets for us all for the opening show, what do you think Katlyn?” She tossed the roll to Katlyn who, with sudden skill, skewered it on a fork.”
    “If he had, we would have been already! I think he has decided to open the royal library for us to explore, then while exploring it we find some hidden rooms and have a little adventure all our own!” she smiled biting into the bread as the King let out a hearty laugh.
    “No, dear ladies, Our Marius is going to have a baby!” He patted his oldest son on the shoulder. “Why don’t you go get your little love now, I really want your lady to meet the family while we are all here.” Marius grinned and ran to get Celeste as Krista leaned on her hand looking at her sisters.
    “A baby, Isn’t it wonderful?” She smiled softly, but sadly, as her sisters followed suit.
    “It’s better hearing it the second time around!” Sighed Amber, picking at her food. The King looked at the three confused.
    “You already knew?” He pouted.
    “Yes, they came to me for advice. Marius wishes to leave the running for heir so that he may marry Celeste and have their child.” Krista said, her face a little down.
    “Just think of all the clothes we can make for them!” Katlyn cheered and soon the girls had drifted into that topic leaving the other aside like a sharp knife.
    Krista seemed completely transformed with her sisters nearby. It only seemed an act for the briefest of movements when she thought no one was looking. When one of her sisters took center stage with some song or stories, her features would flicker, an eyebrow twitch, her smile sunk lower, her eyes appeared tired and timid. Nathaniel placed his hand on hers and gave it a reassuring squeeze. She responded with a quick glance his way, the softest and most affectionate smile on her face before turning back to her sisters. They talked at ease with the royal family, seeming to become people they had known forever. The three were kind, talked both softly and boldly, and took into consideration everything that was said. Nathaniel looked to his father, who watched the proceedings with such attention, like he was trying to record every second. Krista and the girls still did not know the fate of the King, she was still tasked with helping Marius, who brought a shy Celeste to the table where Amelia, Marius’ mother, took the woman into a big, reassuring hug. Krista was still burden with picking an heir from himself and Richard though. Richard spoke softly to Krista when she seemed too brass. Gently reminding her that she was at the table, to use her manners, ordering her to behave. Nathaniel expected Krista to rebel against this, like she always did, but this time she became quite and would cease whatever she was doing regardless if others had noticed it or not. She was still coping with the loss of David as well, as her sisters carefully took control of the conversation every time something was brought up that they knew would set her off. She must have put on this act for friends before. Her sisters kept glancing over to her, they took it in turns. When Amber was singing, Katlyn kept smiling at Krista, while Katlyn told a story Amber did the same. Nathaniel realized they were watching for the cracks in the mask. Near the end of dinner it fissured sharply as Krista went instantly from a loud laugh to weeping hysterically. The girls swept her up, excusing themselves quickly. And left with her, their arms securely around her. They always protected each other.

 


Leave a comment

Categories